Food, Toronto
Leave a Comment

Eggs in a Hole Reinvented

The final product!

The final product!

As I’m finally getting into the swing of things, I’ve had more time to think about what to cook, what to post, and where to visit in this city that is changing at every second.  I was only gone for a few short months, but there are so many new places to go and things to see that I can’t wait to check off my list.

For now, I’m sharing the meal I’ve been addicted to since last week when I first tested it out; baked avocado and eggs.  I had seen pictures of this on instagram over the summer and was interested to see how it would come out.  I’m not usually a huge fan of eating avocados straight up, but in a sandwich, guacamole, or cooked in other things; this recipe is the exception however.

Not only is this recipe delicious, it’s incredibly simple.  All you need is an avocado, two eggs, some green onions or chives, salt, pepper, and a touch of sirarcha sauce for some extra flavour and spice.  Without the sauce it was also very good, but just like many other recipes with avocado, the spice rounded out its creaminess.

First thing, preheat the oven to 425F.

Cut the avocado length wise around the seed and once you have it opened, take the seed out.  Little tip: I preferred it when I seasoned both before and after placing the egg in, so sprinkle a little salt and pepper directly on the avocado.  Place the avocado halves on a baking tray with tinfoil (parchment paper will also do).  Believe me, it’s a mess to have the fallen egg whites baked onto the dish.

Ready for the eggs to drop

Ready for the eggs to drop

Now this is the slightly tricky part, you want to make sure the yolk of the egg falls into the hole of the avocado while the egg whites can fall onto the avocado itself or onto the tray.  Place in the oven for 18-20 minutes and…..Voilà!

For some finishing touches just sprinkle with a little more salt and pepper, cut up the green onions or chives for garnish and top with some of that delicious sirarcha sauce!  I found this paired really well with some wild rice to round out the meal.

Super simple and super yummy!  Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

