Food
Leave a Comment

Apples on Apples on Apples…

Fall is in the air!  And with fall come all the seasonal fruits and veggies that come in with the harvest including squash, pumpkin, and my personal favourite apples!  With bags of Macintosh apples going for pennies, I’ve been keeping my fridge stocked!  I’m sure I’ll be sharing more of my favourite fall foods but apples are the first thing I dive for in the fall.

Cutting up a ton of apples!

Cutting up a ton of apples!

Probably the simplest of all but a personal favourite is homemade applesauce.  Although it can get tedious at times with peeling and cutting, it’s sooo worth it.  My mum would always make this for us after a big apple picking trip and I’d have it with everything.  My perfect version of applesauce has nothing but apples and water with soft chunks for an added element of texture.  Simply slice up and peel apples to fill a pot and place on the stovetop with a very thin layer of water on the bottom.  Put on full heat until the water boils and then bring down to a simmer.  Stir the apples every few minutes until they are as soft as you’d life and voilà!

The final product, yum!

The final product, yum!

I can eat this with everything!

With a craving for crepes, I spread the warm applesauce over the entire crepe and rolled it up just like my Umī (grandmother) used to do.  For dinner I’ll heat some up to go along with a nice pork tenderloin or sprinkle with a little nutmeg or cinnamon for a midnight snack; I can’t get enough!  As a recent habit, I slice up an apple and sprinkle some brown sugar, cinnamon, and craisins in a bowl and pop it in the microwave for about 30 seconds to slightly warm the apples and melt the sugar for a slightly sweet dessert.

For new inspiration, I’ve been searching for the perfect apple chips recipe.  The recipe itself is very easy but time consuming; I didn’t take this into consideration at first, whoops.  Simply slice into very thin slices as many apples as you’d like and lay them out on a tray with parchment paper but don’t overlap them.  Sprinkle with a little cinnamon and set in the oven at 425F for somewhere between 60 and 90 minutes and flip, cooking them for an equal amount of time on the other side.  My oven didn’t seem to like me very much, so it took a lot longer than I was expecting and left them in for a total of around 3 hours but they were worth the wait and disappeared a lot quicker than I had expected!

All in all, I love a good apple!

Fooling around while waiting...

Fooling around while waiting for my applesauce…

Leave a Reply

