Fashion, Food, Montreal, Toronto
Leave a Comment

Falling for Fall

I was never a particular fan of fall as a kid; it was no longer shorts or pool season and not quite time to bring out the skis.  Having neither one or the other was always a dilemma.  But with time, just like many other things, I have learnt to appreciate much more about this awesome season.

Layering up!

Layering up!

1.  Layering Up. Just like every other season, there are things I look forward to wearing.  In the fall, layering up with sweaters, vests, toques (once it’s a little colder) always makes me happy.  I love going through my drawers and bringing out things I haven’t seen in months.

2. I absolutely love boots.  All kinds of boots.  And even though we have to wear them for a large portion of the year, it’s always nice to bring something new into the mix.

3. The crisp air. I feel like for the first time in months, I can take a deep breath of the freshest air imaginable.  No more pollen flying about and not cold enough yet to give you frostbite.

Looking out at the Mont-Tremblant village

Looking out at the Mont-Tremblant village

4. The beautiful colours. I often get to spend Thanksgiving at Tremblant and by this time the colours are beyond anything you’ve ever imagined.  Throughout the year you think to yourself, there’s no way they can be that great, but every year you get surprised all over again.

Bringing it all back with some hockey!

Bringing it all back with some hockey!

5. The start of hockey season. Who doesn’t love getting back into the groove of keeping up with your favourite team or going to tie up your skates again?  Go HABS Go!

6. I know I wrote about this last week, but I can’t get over it.  Apple picking followed by countless recipes like apple pie, apple sauce, candied apples,…the list goes on.

Spaghetti Squashhh fresh out of the oven...

Spaghetti Squashhh fresh out of the oven…

7. Think I wasn’t going to add more food? Wrong.  This is a recent discovery of mine and I’m taking advantage of it in every way possible; spaghetti squash is a particular fave.  Slice in half, remove the seeds, and put in the oven for an hour and a half at 425.  With a fork you can easily scoop out all the yummy-ness.  It’s sweetest and most flavourful as soon as it’s out of the oven!

Homemade Pumpkin Chai Latte!

Homemade Pumpkin Chai Latte!

8. Pumpkin everything. Forget those PSL (Pumpkin Spice Lattes) from Starbucks that actually have no pumpkin in them whatsoever.  I prefer a Pumpkin Chai Latte with real pumpkin bits.  Either at David’s Tea or at home, they are so easy, far healthier, and make you feel all warm and cozy as the cooler temperatures start coming in.  Add in muffins, pies, scones; there are just so many things to choose from!

9. In general, the start of comfort food. No explanation necessary.

Chai Latte at Dark Horse on Spadina!

Chai Latte at Dark Horse on Spadina!

10. Cafés. This is when I start scoping out new places to sit and study.  Either revisiting some classics or trying somewhere new is always more fun with a chai latte, spiced apple cider, or hot chocolate.  I’m obsessing over Dark Horse’s Chai Latte right now!

11. The mother of all meals: Thanksgiving. If this isn’t on your list, then something is wrong.  The turkey, the potatoes, the cranberry sauce, the pies…I don’t know what I’m looking forward to most.

Warming up by the fire...

Warming up by the fire…

12. And last, but most certainly not least, we can finally start thinking about ski season again. Snow, skis, fires, and family nights playing board games.

Leave a Reply

