Food
Leave a Comment

Individual Fondue

Another fall recipe up for grabs! This one is a new concoction that I discovered while watching my favourite daytime show The Chew and was my favourite host’s presentation, aka. Clinton Kelly.  To be honest, I only started watching the show because of him.  But on another note, I was so stoked to get a new squash recipe that I shared with family over the long weekend and have enjoyed again since.  It’s the perfect little meal to make you warm from the inside out.

Prepping the squash for the oven

Prepping the squash for the oven

So, the recipe is posted on The Chew website but I’ll give a quick rundown.

Ingredients: 2 acorn squash, 2 tablespoons butter, 1 leek, ¼ cup mascarpone, 1 cup heavy cream, ¼ teaspoon nutmeg, and 2 cups of grated Gruyere

When I made the recipe, I definitely loaded up a little more on the leeks. I found that without more of the heartier stuff in the fondue portion, it would have been too creamy.  (Believe me it was still enough!)

Set the over too 400°. Slice the acorn squash into halves, clean then out, and season with salt and pepper.  It helps to cut a small slice off the bottom of the squash as well so it can sit nicely on the pan but also on your plate afterwards.

In a pan, melt the butter and add in thinly sliced leeks and sauté until tender. At the same time, you can combine the mascarpone, heavy cream, and nutmeg in a bowl.  Once the leeks are done, you can add them in there as well.

All that’s left is to pour the mixture in the squash halves and cover the squash with a little pile of Gruyere. I added a little extra nutmeg to the mixture before sprinkling on the cheese just so I get a little more of that yumminess in.

The original instruction say to cook for an hour in the oven with tinfoil and broil for 2 minutes to brown the tops afterwards. I would suggest cooking them for even longer so that the squash really softens up and you can more easily scoop out both the fondue and squash in one bite.

And be aware, they are super filling! I know I’ve got a good appetite and it was difficult to finish a half on my own.  It also makes a great side for dinner if you cut into smaller pieces as we did for Thanksgiving.

It’s the perfect addition to any weekend menu when the leaves start to fall and we begin to see the snow falling (I can’t wait!!).

Leave a Reply

