Food, Toronto
Leave a Comment

The Locale: The White Brick Kitchen

It might look unassuming from the outside, but never judge a book by its cover; the simple white brick (duh) corner of Bloor and Euclid houses some amazing Sunday brunch finds.

As you probably know already, either making or going out for Sunday brunch is something I look forward to at the end of every week.  Cheat day here I come!

The concise menu is always a good sign; I say the fewer things on the menu, the better they have to taste…but this still didn’t make the decision easy.  After hearing the specials which were incredibly tempting and taking a sip of my freshly squeezed grapefruit juice, I decided on their panko fried soft boiled eggs to get me going.

I’ve seen chefs and pictures of these fried soft boiled eggs, and I figured it was about time to see what all the fuss was about.

Rather inconspicuous at the beginning, the eggs looked just like a giant hash brown from the outside but once you cut into that soft center, the yolk just come oozing on out.  That gorgeous yolk does nothing but light up your breakfast with an incredibly piercing stream of yellow.  Paired with a salty side of potatoes and a salad drenched in lemon vinaigrette, I was quite pleased with my choice.

Other than the eggs, I’d have to say the highlight of this dish was the vinaigrette.  I always tend to prefer a vinaigrette over creamier dressings but this one really topped the charts.  It was more acidic than your average dressing, but not too much so.  While a generous amount of pepper added the right amount of seasoning, the lemon perfectly balanced it without being overly sour.  The light and slightly zesty flavour was perfect for brunch; definitely hit the nail right on the head.

Another thing that caught my eye was the banana bread French toast; I mean come on!  It’s definitely something worth trying, but for me, it’ll be an at home tasting on this one.  The added caramelized bananas, chocolate chips, and caramel sauce I think are a little too much for any time of day, especially breakfast…but props out to yah for trying!  I’ll definitely be giving you all an update on that one once I give it a whirl, I’m thinking a nutty bread with lots of walnuts. Any takers?

Another menu find: The Benny

Another menu find: The Benny

All in all, this brunch hot spot is definitely worth your while and a great bang for your buck!

Leave a Reply

