Food
Leave a Comment

Pre- and Post-Workout Nibbles

Managing what and when you eat around workouts has always been challenging for me.  Either it’s too soon, too late, too much, or too little; I can never seem to get it right.  But after trying countless different snacks, one has remained a staple and has by far become my favourite!

These energy clusters are one of the easiest and tastiest snacks that fill your stomach for hours.  Seriously.  I’m always hungry and I when I’m in a rush, I’ll grab a couple of these and I’m good to go for a while.

Energy Clusters:

2 cups rolled oats, ½ cup chocolate chips, 2/3 cup coconut flakes, ½ cup peanut butter, 1/3 cup honey, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, ½ teaspoon salt.  If you want to add protein powder, I usually add a scoop but then put in another little extra bit of peanut butter so it all sticks.

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and let sit in the fridge for an hour.  This part is key, if you wait too long then they start solidifying too much and they won’t cluster into nice little balls.  Once your hour is up, make them into whatever size you want and store in the fridge.  I’d say they last about a week, but I’m through a batch so fast I don’t think you’ll be able to resist either!

Another recent discovery of mine is bluedot tea products.  I got these at a local health food store when I was looking for some Kombucha and I got instantly hooked.  They have 12g of protein and 6g of fiber per bottle.  Believe me, I’m not paid for saying this.  I just really like the taste of it, plus it’s that extra little bit of protein to tie you through the day.  My favourite flavour is the Apple Pear White Tea!

Leave a Reply

