Food
Leave a Comment

Rack of Lamb, Cauliflower, and Green Bean Salad

I might not be able to eat solid foods for the next few days (thank you dental surgery), but that won’t stop be from writing about it.  Last night was my last big meal for the next few days so we were going to make something good.

My choice was a rack of lamb; my dad took charge of the meat while I called the sides.  It was a very simple rack of lamb recipe; just rosemary, thyme, and garlic to flavour the rack.

IMG_9189

My creative side had a chance to take charge here.  First of all, I cut up three quarters of a cauliflower into small bits that I then mixed with a splash of olive oil, kosher salt, and pepper.  Placed evenly at the bottom of a baking dish, it went in the oven next to the lamb for about 20-25 minutes at around 400°.  The rest was for a purée which I will explain shortly.

IMG_9181 IMG_9186 IMG_9188

Next was to make a green bean salad.  The green beans were cooked in boiling water for 3 minutes and then quickly cooled down in an ice bath and the red onion was thinly sliced using a mandolin and then soaked in red wine vinegar (15-20 minutes).  Once the beans had cooled, I cut them into 1 inch pieces and similarly with the red onion.  Finally, all that was tossed in a salad bowl where I added a couple tablespoons of olive oil and crumbled some feta cheese on top.

The remaining cauliflower was the last thing to be cooked for about 5 minutes in a pot of boiling water.  Once they had been drained, they went into the magic bullet with a dollop of tzatziki, a dash of salt and pepper.  All that was left was to blend until the consistency was smooth but still thick.

IMG_9194

I knew lamb went well with feta, tzatziki, and other Greek ingredients; paired with the cauliflower I thought they would bring out the flavours of the lamb and did they ever!  I’m really happy with the way the creamy purée went with the lamb chops and the feta in the cheese made all the elements on the plate come together.

IMG_9203

Accompanied by a Brunello from Italy (an excellent choice), the meal was the ultimate success.

IMG_9207 IMG_9190

Thank goodness for that or else I would be seriously suffering the next few days.  I can’t wait to get some solid food back in my diet!

Leave a Reply

