Food
Leave a Comment

Spicy Cauliflower Bites and Peanut Butter Sauce

It’s been a crazy week for me as I’m sure it has for the rest of you; school is starting to pick up all while we try and get back in the groove and collect all our materials for the semester.  Without the track girls, I would definitely have a lot less social time but luckily we’re all pretty keen on getting in some good study breaks together.  Tonight we’ve got an awesome potluck planned so I’ll be sharing my contribution to the group with spicy cauliflower bites with peanut butter sauce. 

Now this is the first time I’ve tried this recipe, so it’s a little more from the book than most of the recipes I care to share.  At the same time, while I was doing some testing I found there to be a few ratios that could be adjusted so I’ve changed those in hopes that they’ll also work for whoever else wants to give this a try.

This recipe also happens to be from one of my newer cookbooks: Thug Kitchen.  This book is like none other in my lineup and makes me laugh out loud and roll my eyes like you’d never thought possible.  Warning however, the number of swear words and profanities can literally change the way you talk for a good hour or so after having read it; but I’ll keep it clean for tonight.

IMG_9769

Using one cauliflower head, cut little bite sized pieces.  In a mixing bowl, mix together one cup water with half a cup of flour and throw in the cauliflower pieces.  Coat them lightly so that each bit has a bit of the flour mixture on it.  With your oven at 450°, pop them onto a tray and into the oven for about 15 minutes.  In the meantime you can mix the remaining sauces.

The hot sauce is a mixture of 2 tablespoons olive oil, ¼ cup rice vinegar, 1 tablespoon soy sauce, and a ¼ cup of Sirarcha sauce.  Mix all of these onto a small saucepan and heat them up so that they can mix together thoroughly.

IMG_9779

Now for the best part, the peanut butter sauce.  This requires about ½ cup of smooth peanut butter with an equal amount of water.  Mix these together in a small bowl before adding the other ingredients.  Then add 2 tablespoons of both rice vinegar and lime juice, 3 teaspoon of fresh ginger (I got to use my new mortar and pestle for this!), and 1 tablespoon of both soy sauce and maple syrup.  All this can be mixed together and stored in the fridge until it is served.

IMG_9772

Once the cauliflower pieces are done in the oven, mix them with the hot sauce and throw them back in there for about another 3-5 minutes so everything is evenly coated and warm.

IMG_9765

The spicy bites also pair very well with some refreshing celery sticks or cucumber; I opted for the later.  And don’t forget that peanut butter sauce! It cuts through some of the spice and manages to create a fun new twist on a great game-watching snack.

I can’t wait to see what the rest of the girls have cooked up and I hope they love these as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

