City Livin', Food
Leave a Comment

Hasty Realizations

I had a scary realization at the end of last week that my time in Toronto (at least for this semester) is quickly coming to an end, so once I stopped dwelling on that fact I realized that I need to make a bigger dent in my to do list.

It was a big day of studying on Monday but without anywhere to be, I devoted my entire day to doing/visiting a few new places.

First off, because of the gorgeous day that lay ahead, I finally brought out my bike which made the day just that much more enjoyable.  I was headed to Bolt Fresh Bar around lunch (only about a 20 minute bike ride) which re-opened my eyes to all the awesome things along Queen West.  The new cafes, pop-up shops, and tons of cool things lining the streets got me even more excited!

I also wanted to share this little bit of inspiration that I biked by on my way along Queen which really resonated with me.

IMG_0797

Once at Bolt, I had to take a few minutes to figure out what I wanted from the delicious menu.  I was parched, so I opted for a green pineapple juice and made my own salad with spinach, shredded beets and carrots, edamame, marinated tofu, and dried cranberries.  Although they had some great looking bowls on their menu, I was really craving the cranberries and spinach combo that I’m a huge fan.  The juice also totally hit the spot!

IMG_0794 IMG_0761 IMG_0776

I wasn’t ready to head home after having done a couple hours of good studying so I hit up another place that I’ve been highly anticipating: the Village Juicery.  This cute looking juice shop located on Euclid, just north of College was exactly the kind of refreshing I needed.  Not long after having walked in, the guy working the shop was telling me about how their juice shop isn’t a big supporter of long juice cleanses, or juice cleanses at all really.  Although I’m still interested in giving one a try, I can totally understand how drinking only juice for a few days can be hard on your body.  Instead, the in-store nutritionist arranges reset programs that will help kick start your body.  Each season, new programs are prepared to suit the changing conditions; not to mention, the consultations with the nutritionist for free!  Although I didn’t sign up for one on the spot, they have group sessions coming up from March 30th to April 2nd, so I’m sure you’ll be hearing about this awesome joint again around then!   These are a few of my first choices and I can’t wait to go back.

IMG_1014 IMG_1016 IMG_1025 IMG_1031

I hope some of you reading this see the opportunities available (especially as we get closer to summer) and take advantage of some of the cool things taking place around the city; you know I’ll be checking out tons of cool things coming up, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

