Food
Comments 2

Banana Bread French Toast

I’m not entirely sure where I got this idea from; I’ve either seen it on one of countless brunch menus, found it on the line (throw in that Internship reference), or somehow came up with this devilishly good idea on my own.  Therefore I can’t take full credit but regardless of its source, I needed to test this one out for myself!

I’m not hugely into baking, but one thing I’ve come to master is banana bread.  Combining my banana bread with the simple egg mixture for French toast (where I included nutmeg, cinnamon, and a hint of vanilla) to be lightly toasted made for the perfect homemade indulgent brunch.  Give the slices a little soak before laying them on the pan for a few minutes each side.  In case French toast isn’t rich enough for you, using banana bread instead of Chala will surely do the trick!  Any recipe of banana bread will work but remember when you pour over the maple syrup you might want the bread to be less sweet just to balance it out.  Topped off with a handful of berries, this ridiculously filling meal left me full for hours to come.  You really can’t go wrong!

IMG_1643 IMG_1655 IMG_1658

2 Comments

  1. Amber • Carolinian Explorer says

    Thanks so much for posting this! I’ve been looking for some new breakfast ideas and this looks perfect. Can’t wait to try it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

